Northern Clearwater Mountains

 Winter Weather Advisory  Statement as of 10:28 am MST on December 20, 2014


... Winter Weather Advisory in effect from 3 PM MST /2 PM PST/
this afternoon to 5 am MST /4 am PST/ Monday above 4000 feet...

The National Weather Service in Missoula has issued a Winter
Weather Advisory for snow and slick roads above 4000 feet...
which is in effect from 3 PM MST /2 PM PST/ this afternoon to 5 am
MST /4 am PST/ Monday. The Winter Storm Watch is no longer in
effect.

* * Impacts/timing: heavy wet snow to impact area passes tonight
through late Sunday. Heavy snow followed by rain could make
mountain roads very difficult or dangerous to travel on at
times. Lookout... Lolo... and lost trail passes will most likely
be impacted. Many higher elevation locations such as Elk City...
Dixie... and Gilmore Summit in central Idaho may receive
several inches of snow also.

* Snow accumulations: lookout... Lolo... and lost trail passes
will be most impacted with expected snow accumulations of 6-12
inches in 24 hours. Elk City... Dixie... and Gilmore Summit may
also receive 3-6 inches in 24 hours. Portions of the Salmon
River Valley may also see a slushy inch or two of snow mainly
tonight.

* Locations impacted include... Dixie... Elk City... Bannock Pass...
   Highway 28 Tendoy to Lone Pine... Highway 93 Lost Trail Pass
to Gibbonsville... Lemhi Pass... Evaro hill

Precautionary/preparedness actions...


A Winter Weather Advisory for snow means that periods of snow
will cause primarily travel difficulties. Be prepared for snow
covered roads and limited visibilities... and use caution while
driving.







Powered by the Weather Underground, Inc.